Back To News

2017 STPGA Texas Joe Black Cup Team Named

September 20th, 2017

SPRING, TEXAS – The Southern Texas PGA Section announced the 2017 Texas Joe Black Cup Matches Team on Wednesday. The team will be led by Captain Ken McDonald, Vice Captains Gordon Johnson and Jeff Strong. This annual Ryder Cup style event between the Northern Texas PGA and the Southern Texas PGA will be the 37th meeting and is set for October 23-24 at Spanish Oaks Golf Club.

The 2017 STPGA team includes Marc DeWall (STPGA President), Robert Thompson (Senior Representative), Garrison Nordt (Captain’s Pick), Joe Mitchell (Victoria Country Club), Casey Russell (The Club at Colony Creek), Ryan Polzin (Royal Oaks Country Club), Ricky Arnett (Great Hills Country Club), Jamie Christianson (Miramont Country Club), Wes Skaggs (Crystal Falls), Rich Barcelo (Bluejack National), David Von Hoffman (Spanish Oaks Golf Club), and Chad Donegan (Landa Park Golf Club).

Last year, STPGA fell short 16-8 but leads the Matches with an 18-17-1 overall record.

The Texas Joe Black Cup Matches is annually the most anticipated competitive event in the Northern and Southern Texas Sections. This fiercely contested rivalry between the two sister sections is marked by close matches, dramatic shots, uncompromising sportsmanship and friendships that last lifetimes.

Established in 1981, the Texas Joe Black Cup Matches were created to honor Snyder native Joe Black, who was completing his first term as President of PGA of America. 
Back To News