Back To News

Class of 2018 Southern Texas PGA Award Winners Announced

November 6th, 2018

SPRING, TEXAS --- The Southern Texas PGA is excited to announce this year’s award winners. Led by Golf Professional of the Year C.W. Canfield, the list includes over 17 individuals that have won a Section Award and an additional 11 Chapter Awards winners. 

C.W. Canfield is currently the Director of Golf at Lakeside Country Club in Houston, Texas.     

This honor has been presented annually for 51 years and is based on the recipient’s overall performance as a PGA Professional, level of service to the Southern Texas PGA, leadership, image, ability to inspire fellow Professionals, and service to the region’s golf community. The first STPGA Golf Professional of the Year award went to the late Hardy Loudermilk, shortly after the STPGA’s creation in 1968.

Elected to Membership in 2001, Canfield credits his “cadet days” at West Point and his time spent in the U.S. Army for his passion to lead.

“In college, I had a Military History professor articulate that to be a great leader, one must ‘March to the sound of the guns,’ and ‘In the absence of further orders, attack.’” Canfield said. “I often gather my staff to explain the importance of these simple phrases. We have to be where the members are to provide the best possible service (‘March to the sound of the guns’) and be also be able to carry out our duties during autonomous moments (‘In the absence of further orders, attack’).”

Those words rang true during and after Hurricane Harvey in 2017. Feeling helpless, Canfield took charge and started ordering ball, bags, gloves, and shoes, having them shipped to his house to stay ahead of his member’s needs. During the aftermath, he and his staff cleaned debris from the flooded operations in preparation of opening shop as soon as possible.

“I was the first to work and the last to leave during the Harvey aftermath,” Canfield said. “I had to be the foundation of positive leadership and energy.”

This marks the second STPGA Section Award for Canfield, having won the 2015 STPGA Merchandiser of the Year (Private Club).

Canfield and his fellow award winners will be formally presented with their honors during the STPGA’s 51st Annual President’s Dinner and Awards Ceremony on Monday, February 18, 2019 at Horseshoe Bay Resort. A complete listing of the 2018 Southern Texas PGA award recipients is below:
2018 Southern Texas PGA Section Awards
Golf Professional of the Year CW Canfield (Lakeside Country Club)
Harvey Penick Teacher of the Year Christy Longfield (Spanish Oaks Golf Club)
Bill Strausbaugh Award James Brown (Royal Oaks Country Club)
Horton Smith Award Mark Steinbauer (Bentwater Yacht & Country Club)
Special Service Award Ken Moore (Barbers Hill Bank; Mont Belvieu)
Assistant Professional of the Year Christopher Pribyl (Houston Country Club)
Player Development Award Doug Strawbridge (GolfTEC-Upper Kirby)
Youth Player Development Award Aaron Bergman (The Golf School)
Merchandiser of the Year (Private) Traditions Club (Bryan)
Merchandiser of the Year (Public/Semi) Woodforest Golf Club (Montgomery)
Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) Wolfdancer Golf Club (Lost Pines)
Patriot Award Ken Kirchhofer (Atascocita Golf Club)
Golf Sales Representative of the Year Jason Barber (Titleist)
Media Award Joe Pogge (Smokin’ Joe’s Driving Range; Houston)
Junior Golfer of the Year (Boy) William Moll (Houston)
Junior Golfer of the Year (Girl) Sadie Englemann (Austin)
Amateur of the Year Mitchell Meissner (San Antonio)
2018 Southern Texas PGA Chapter Awards
Golf Professional of the Year  
Eastern Chapter Gordon Johnson (Houston Country Club)
Western Chapter Matt Klein (Austin Golf Club)
Southern Chapter David Ramirez (The Club at Colony Creek)
Harvey Penick Teacher of the Year  
Eastern Chapter Tommy O’Brien (Memorial Park Golf Course)
Western Chapter Ron Miller (The Hills of Lakeway)
Youth Player Development Award  
Eastern Chapter Susie Redman-Kirk (The Woodlands Golf Performance Group)
Western Chapter Brian McMyler (The Dominion Country Club)
Southern Chapter David Ramirez (The Club at Colony Creek)
Merchandiser of the Year  
Eastern Chapter Traditions Club (Bryan)
Western Chapter Austin Country Club (Austin)
Southern Chapter Corpus Christi Country Club (Corpus Christi)
Back To News