Back To News

Southern Texas PGA Hosts Memorable 51st Annual Meeting

February 19th, 2019

HORSESHOE BAY, TEXAS --- The Southern Texas PGA held its 51st Annual Meeting at Horseshoe Bay Resort on Monday and Tuesday. Approximately 200 Members attended the event, which kicked off with a Panel Discussion featuring PGA of America Vice President Jim Richerson, District 12 Director Tony Martinez, STPGA Honorary President Marc DeWall, and STPGA Past President Jeff Strong. Additional featured speakers included Tim Novak, Executive Director of the John Maxwell Team, and Jim Terry, PGA Senior Director of PGA Golf Properties.

The newly elected Board of Directors were also welcomed into office on Monday afternoon. Doug DeSive, PGA Head Professional at Corpus Christi Country Club, headlines the group of officers as Section President. James Brown, PGA Head Professional at Royal Oaks Country Club has moved into the Vice President position, with Bryan Minnick, PGA Head Professional at Shadow Hawk Golf Club being elected to Secretary. Marc DeWall, PGA General Manager at The Clubs of Cordillera Ranch will serve as Honorary President. In addition to the officers, Rich Ballinger, PGA Master Professional and Director of Sam Houston State University PGA Golf Management Program, Darrell Fuston, PGA Director of Golf at The Woodlands Country Club, and Jim Nittoli, PGA Director of Golf at San Antonio, joined the Board.

In addition, Chapter Officers were also sworn in. Mark Duranski, PGA Head Professional at BraeBurn Country Club, will serve as Eastern Chapter President with Ricky Lyons, PGA General Manager at Westwood Golf Club, as Vice President. In the Western Chapter, Chad Donegan, PGA Director of Golf at Landa Park Golf Course, moved into the President spot, while Aaron Krause, PGA Head Professional at Max Starcke Park Golf Club, will serve as Vice President. Jeremiah Cabrera, PGA Head Professional at Laredo Country Club, will serve as Southern Chapter President with John Garcia, PGA Head Professional at The Practice Tee, as his Vice President.

The 2018 STPGA Award Winners were celebrated with a dinner and awards ceremony on Monday evening with the awards class being headlined by Golf Professional of the Year C.W. Canfield, PGA Director of Golf at Lakeside Country Club.

Tuesday’s session featured Chuck Cook, Top 10 Teacher, and Cary Collins, PGA of America Rules Committee Member. Attendees then participated in breakout session which included topics:
  • Golf Fitness by AMPD Fitness
  • Attracting & Retaining Millennials with PGA Career Consultant Kelly Gilley
  • Golf Genius & Tournament Operations
  • Best Practices in Merchandising with 2016 PGA of America Merchandiser of the Year and 2018 Southern Texas PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Resort) Kelly O’Donnell (Wolfdancer Golf Club) and Patrick Ascherl (Traditions Club), 2018 Southern Texas PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Private)
  • PGM 3.0 for Associates & Continuing Education (Specialist, Certified, Master) for Members with PGA Master Professional Rich Ballinger
  • Marking the Course & Local Rules at your Facility with Cary Collins, PGA
The 51st Southern Texas PGA Annual Meeting was presented by Constellation, Garia, Golf Scorecards, Inc., Haas-Jordan, Lorente, Mark Danton Golf, Ouray, Streamsong, and Winston Collection.
Back To News